Friday, December 01, 2006

The reporter being reported on!

Congrats on the award Ai Chun!! And.. Pete and I are still waiting for details on the awards night dinner!! :P

* * * * * * * * * *
Friday December 1, 2006
The Star Newspaper
The Star grabs top awards

The Star swept both the top awards and two merit certificates in the English media category at the Penang Media Awards Night 2006.

Journalists Ng Su-Ann and Ong Yee Ting came out tops in the Best English News Report award while Choong Kwee Kim and Susan Loone won in the Best English Feature category. The winners in each category received RM1,000 and a trophy. Each journalist also received a certificate. Ng, who won the award for her report on RM10mil Facelift for Komtar, said she was elated over the victory.

“This will definitely spur me to improve on my work and strive to make a greater difference,” she said.

SMILING FACES: (From left) Derrick, Choong, Yeng and Tan posing with their certificates.

Ong said she was still on cloud nine and could not believe that she had won the award. Choong, who secured the award for her report on Future of Jerejak Uncertain published in The Star on Dec 28, 29 and 30, 2005, wished to express her gratitude to the primary sources who willingly shared their experiences. “We have the people, our readers, to thank for sharing their views, experiences and oral history of our common heritage that helped make us The People’s paper,” she said.

Three other journalists Derrick Vinesh, Tan Sin Chow and Yeng Ai Chun also tasted success in the Best English Feature category. Derrick won a Jury’s Merit Certificate for his feature titled Banking on BORR while Tan and Yeng won a similar certificate for their report on Hokkien Still Rules in Penang.

Chief Minister Tan Sri Dr Koh Tsu Koon said the media should continue to be responsible in serving the nation and strive to publish and disseminate news and information in the fastest, most accurate and responsible manner. “We must continue to serve the better interest of the nation, whatever the constraints,” he said, adding that the media should continue to uphold integrity and quality in their news reports.

RTM's Sinarsuria Zaini, contesting in the electronic media category, clinched the Best Overall Journalism Award for her report on 11 killed in Bus Accident in Nibong Tebal.

The annual event, organised by the state government, saw a total of 256 entries for the print and electronic media categories.

No comments: